OpenAI vs primitive
Which Developer Tools AI tool is better in 2026?
OpenAI
Creator of ChatGPT, GPT-4, and the leading frontier AI lab.
primitive
Communication infrastructure that lets autonomous agents talk to humans and to each other.
Side-by-side
OpenAI leads on both fronts — more capital raised ($193.3B) and a lower entry price than primitive.
| Metric | OpenAI | primitive |
|---|---|---|
| Taglinei | Creator of ChatGPT, GPT-4, and the leading frontier AI lab. | Communication infrastructure that lets autonomous agents talk to humans and to each other. |
| Foundedi | 2015🏆 | 2026 |
| HQi | San Francisco, US | San Francisco, US |
| Employeesi | 1001-5000🏆 | — |
| Neuron scorei | 83🏆 | 43 |
| Total fundingi | $193.3B🏆 | $500K |
| Latest roundi | Series E · Mar 2026 | Seed · Mar 2026 |
| Valuationi | $852B🏆 | — |
| Cheapest paid plani | ChatGPT Plus · $20/mo🏆 | Pricing not disclosed |
| Free plani | ✓ Free | ✗ |
| Free triali | ✗ | ✗ |
| Top tier pricei | ChatGPT Team · $25/mo | Pricing not disclosed |
| Pricing summaryi | 4 published plans | Usage-based |
| Categoriesi |
Capability matrix
Developer-facing capabilities and access signals for OpenAI and primitive.
| Capability | OpenAI | primitive |
|---|---|---|
| MCP support | ✓ | ✗ |
| Public API | ✓ | ✗ |
| Webhooks | ✓ | ✗ |
| OAuth 2.0 | ✓ | ✗ |
| SDK languages | 6 (Python, Node.js, TypeScript, Go…) | 3 (Node.js, Python, Go) |
| Free plan | ✓ | ✗ |
| Free trial | ✗ | ✗ |
| Verified | ✗ | ✗ |
| Active deal | ✓ | ✗ |
🟢 Strengths of OpenAI
- Has raised more capital ($193.3B vs $500K)
- Higher Neuron score (83 vs 43)
- Offers a free plan
- Lower starting price ($20/mo)
🔵 Strengths of primitive
- Newer company (2026)
Which should you choose?
Choose OpenAI if price matters most — it starts at Free · From $20/mo, which is friendlier for teams watching burn. Both AI Developer Tools tools ship core features, so the cost delta often decides it for small teams and solo operators.
Choose OpenAI if you want the most established option — it has raised $193.3B, suggesting more runway for enterprise features, support, and long-term roadmap. For mission-critical workflows or larger teams, that stability often outweighs a lower monthly price.
💸 Deals
Free daily tokens via OpenAI data-sharing tier
Eligible OpenAI API tiers can earn free daily tokens on GPT-4.1, GPT-4o, and other models by opting in to share prompts and completions for model improvement.
Terms: Opt-in required. Token allotment varies by tier.
Frequently asked questions
OpenAI vs primitive — which is better?
It depends on your priority. OpenAI has raised more capital and is the more established option; primitive has broader feature depth. See the side-by-side table above.
Is OpenAI cheaper than primitive?
Yes — OpenAI's cheapest paid plan is ChatGPT Plus · $20/mo, while primitive's is Usage-based.
Do OpenAI and primitive offer free plans?
OpenAI: Yes, has a free plan. primitive: Paid only.
Explore more AI Developer Tools tools
Contextual paths to related AI startups, deals and rankings.