Skip to main content
NeuronFeed

OpenEvidence vs Periodic Labs

Which Healthcare AI tool is better in 2026?

OpenEvidence

AI medical assistant for clinicians

$735M

Periodic Labs

Creating AI scientists and autonomous laboratories to accelerate scientific discovery, starting with physical sciences.

$300M

Side-by-side

Verdict

OpenEvidence is the more established option (raised $735M); pricing is comparable on both sides.

Metric OpenEvidence Periodic Labs
Taglinei AI medical assistant for clinicians Creating AI scientists and autonomous laboratories to accelerate scientific discovery, starting with physical sciences.
Foundedi 2022🏆 2025
HQi San Francisco, US US
Employeesi 50-200 11-50🏆
Neuron scorei 63 64🏆
Total fundingi $735M🏆 $300M
Latest roundi Series D · Jan 2026 Seed · Sep 2025
Valuationi $12B🏆 —
Cheapest paid plani — Pricing not disclosed
Free plani ✗ ✗
Free triali ✗ ✗
Top tier pricei Enterprise · Contact sales Pricing not disclosed
Pricing summaryi 1 published plans Enterprise · Contact sales
Categoriesi

Capability matrix

Developer-facing capabilities and access signals for OpenEvidence and Periodic Labs.

Capability OpenEvidence Periodic Labs
MCP support ✗ ✗
Public API ✓ ✗
Webhooks ✗ ✗
OAuth 2.0 ✗ ✗
SDK languages 2 (TypeScript, Python) —
Free plan ✗ ✗
Free trial ✗ ✗
Verified ✓ ✗
Active deal ✗ ✗

🟢 Strengths of OpenEvidence

  • Has raised more capital ($735M vs $300M)
  • More mature (2022)
  • Verified profile

🔵 Strengths of Periodic Labs

  • Higher Neuron score (64 vs 63)
  • Newer company (2025)

Which should you choose?

Choose Periodic Labs if price matters most — it starts at Enterprise · Contact sales, which is friendlier for teams watching burn. Both AI Healthcare tools ship core features, so the cost delta often decides it for small teams and solo operators.

Choose OpenEvidence if you want the most established option — it has raised $735M, suggesting more runway for enterprise features, support, and long-term roadmap. For mission-critical workflows or larger teams, that stability often outweighs a lower monthly price.

Frequently asked questions

OpenEvidence vs Periodic Labs — which is better?

It depends on your priority. OpenEvidence has raised more capital and is the more established option; Periodic Labs has broader feature depth. See the side-by-side table above.

Is OpenEvidence cheaper than Periodic Labs?

No — Periodic Labs's cheapest paid plan is Enterprise · Contact sales, while OpenEvidence's is Freemium.

Do OpenEvidence and Periodic Labs offer free plans?

OpenEvidence: Paid only. Periodic Labs: Paid only.

Contextual paths to related AI startups, deals and rankings.